jump to navigation

Weight Loss! August 1, 2011

Posted by runningforthestars in Uncategorized.
trackback

BAM! It hit me like a ton of bricks this morning……the scale that is.  I stepped on the scale this morning for the first time in months.   I hate the scale. HATE IT.  It is evil. 

The main reason why I hate the scale is because earlier last year I became obsessed with the scale.  For about a month, I got on the scale EVERY SINGLE DAY.  The little number on the top would either make my day great or a miserable one.  That’s when I started developing a slight eating disorder.  I monitored EVERYTHING I put into my mouth.  I started recording calories, fat, carbs…..Nothing went past my lips if it wasn’t written on paper.  I became obsessed.  Until my mom stepped in and said that I needed to see a nutritionist before things got out of hand.  I wasn’t eating enough.  I tried eating as little food as possible.  I was eating less than 1,000 calories a day and exercising 6 or 7 days a week.  Well instead of getting the positive results I was hoping for, my body rebelled and I started gaining weight.  As well as gaining weight, I developed a ton of other problems.  Some of which I am still dealing with.  After seeing a nutritionist she helped me get back on track.  I am nowhere near perfect with food.  I never will be.  Food and I battle everyday.  I have come to understand that.  I’m still trying to find common ground between food and I.

Well anyway, I’ve gained some weight since last summer and I am not so happy about it.  It doesn’t even have anything to do with the way I look!  I’m mostly concerned because I know that a few extra pounds can put a lot of pressure on the knees, and for a runner, that’s a huge deal!  I have totally noticed a difference in my running from last year.  A lot more pain in the knees.  Also, my summer clothes don’t fit from last year.  I’ve been sticking to sundresses most of the summer. 😦

Today I am making a change and a commitment to myself.  I have set up small goals for myself rather than large goals.  I usually say, “I want to lose 10lbs by X date”.  That usually backfires.  Instead, my goal is to lose 1lb per week.  Once I reach my first 5lbs I will reward myself with a Non-Food treat.  I will only be getting on the scale once a week, not 5 times a week.  I am keeping everything recorded and stuck to the fridge.  I’m really hoping my willpower works and I can reach my goal.

What do you think?  Do you think I can do it?

Have you ever set goals for yourself?  How do you make sure you stay on track?

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

